DUNSTABLE TOWN COUNCIL

MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL

HELD AT THE INCUBA, 1 BREWERS HILL ROAD, DUNSTABLE

ON MONDAY 21 MAY 2018

Present: Councillor Gloria Martin (Retiring Town Mayor); Councillor John Kane (Deputy Town Mayor); Councillors Sid Abbott, Lisa Bird, John Chatterley, Terry Colbourne, Jeannette Freeman, Eugene Ghent, Peter Hollick, Liz Jones, Mike Mullany, Patricia Russell, Ann Sparrow, Pat Staples, Johnson Tamara, and Nigel Warren with David Ashlee (Town Clerk and Chief Executive)

Apologies for Absence: Councillors Philip Crawley, Ann Kennedy, Claire Meakins, Emma Simmons and Jessica Woodward

Before the commencement of the meeting Reverend Nina Johnson led the Council in prayer.

88 ELECTION OF TOWN MAYOR

It was proposed by Councillor Mullany, seconded by Councillor Staples and

RESOLVED: that Councillor John Kane be and is hereby elected Town Mayor of Dunstable for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The newly elected Town Mayor thereupon made the statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office and addressed the Council. He advised that his chosen charities for the year would be Dunstable and District Disabled Sports (DADDS) and Dunstable Sea Cadets

89 SPECIFIC DECLARATIONS

There were no specific declarations of interest.

90 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR

It was proposed by Councillor Hollick, seconded by Councillor Russell, and

RESOLVED: that Councillor Nigel Warren be and is hereby elected Deputy Town Mayor of Dunstable for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The newly appointed Deputy Town Mayor thereupon made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

91 TOWN MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN

The Town Mayor reported that he had appointed Reverend Canon Richard Andrews of the Priory Church of St Peter as the Town Mayor's Chaplain for the ensuing Municipal Year.

92 APPOINTMENT OF STANDING COMMITTEES

RESOLVED: that the following Committees be appointed for the ensuing Municipal Year 2018/2019:

Finance and General Purposes Committee

Town Mayor and Deputy Town Mayor (ex-officio), Councillors Abbott, Chatterley, Colbourne, Crawley, Ghent, Hollick, Jones, Kennedy, Martin, Meakins, Mullany, Russell, Sparrow and Staples

Grounds and Environmental Services Committee

Town Mayor and Deputy Town Mayor (ex-officio), Councillors Abbott, Bird, Crawley, Freeman, Hollick, Jones, Kennedy, Martin, Simmons, Sparrow, Tamara and Woodward

Community Services Committee

Town Mayor and Deputy Town Mayor (ex-officio), Councillors Bird, Chatterley, Colbourne, Freeman, Ghent, Meakins, Mullany, Russell, Simmons, Staples, Tamara and Woodward

Dunstable Joint Committee

Town Mayor, Deputy Town Mayor and Chairmen of three Standing Committees (Named substitutes: Vice-Chairmen of the three Standing Committees)

Personnel Sub-Committee

Councillors Hollick, Jones, Kane, Meakins, Staples and Warren

Accounts Sub-Committee

Councillors Hollick, Mullany, Tamara and Warren

Plans Sub-Committee

Councillors Abbott, Crawley, Jones, Freeman, Simmons, Sparrow and Staples

Appeals and Appointments Committee

Town Mayor and Chairmen of the three Standing Committees and Vice-Chairman of Finance and General Purposes Committee

93 <u>MINUTES</u>

The Minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 30 April 2018 were approved as a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

94 REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE ORGANISATIONS, ETC

It was moved by Councillor Hollick, seconded by Councillor Jones, and

RESOLVED: that the representatives to serve on outside organisations be as follows:

<u>Body</u>

Observer at Development Committee (Central Beds)	Cllr Jones (named substitute Cllr Abbott)
Dunstable International Town Twinning Assoc.	Town Mayor, Cllr Warren (vacancy)
South Beds Dial-a-Ride Management Cttee	Cllr Martin
CAB Management Committee	Cllr Meakins
Hospice at Home Management Cttee	Cllr Jones
Dunstable Concert Ensemble	Town Mayor and Deputy Town Mayor
Dunstable District Scout Council Executive	Cllr Staples
Dunstable Town Band	Cllr Sparrow
Ashton Schools Foundation	Cllrs Sparrow and Martin (4 year term of office until June 2020)
Ashton Almshouses Charity	Cllrs Russell and Staples (4 year term of office until May 2019)
Chews Foundation	Cllr Chatterley and Canon T Beaumont (3 year term of office until May 2021)
Poor's Land Charity	Cllrs Hollick and Staples (4 year term of office until May 2019)
Lockington Charity	Mr T Owens and Mr J Bradley (4 year term of office until January 2020)
Marshe Charity	Mr T Owens and Mr J Bradley (term of office as Lockington)

Representative

95 DISCLOSABLE PECUNIARY INTERESTS – DISPENSATION

It was proposed by the Town Mayor, seconded by Councillor Colbourne, and

RESOLVED: i) that the Council grants all members a dispensation from any Disclosable Pecuniary Interest (DPI) relating to decision making when setting the annual revenue and capital budget and associated precept and council tax charge

ii) that the Council grants all Councillors who are also Central Bedfordshire Councillors a dispensation from any DPI relating to decision making on matters that are associated with Central Bedfordshire Council.